Alone in a alley with a stranger

Daily writing prompt
Describe a random encounter with a stranger that stuck out positively to you.

This was many years ago

I was photographing in Tallinn Old Town. It is the medieval part of the city of Tallinn Estonia. That place can be labyrinth if person doesn’t know the very narrow streets and alleys or have a map. Absolutely beautiful place and buildings and history that place. It is one of my favorite parts of Tallinn. And it place where people get easily lost even though it is not even a big place. Like I said it can be a labyrinth.

It was beautiful sunny day summer day with blue sky. I had been photographing the side streets and alleys away from the tourists few hours that point. And there had not been single person there besides me. I was just enjoying my time and taking photos. And then I saw a man walking towards me and he was smiling.

There is no one else. Just me and this man who is smiling more as he is getting closer to me. Like any woman can say that does sometimes feel little creepy. Especially since there is no other people. No cars. I couldn’t even hear any other people nearby. All alone with no other people. Yes it is sunny and day. But that doesn’t matter if someone else has sinisters plans.

This starts to feel too creepy

I do have pepper spray just in case and something else to protect myself or others depending on the situation. Also army sniper so I’m not some damsell that can’t keep her own in a fight. So I do what I always do. Look at him and trying to see if I can physically win a fight against him. This case yes I could have. That did relax me.

But him smiling and starting to walk faster towards me. It is just that women’s instinct that does come out and say there is possible danger in this situation. That instinct something that is hard to denie.

It was that smiling that did creep me out most. Like why would stranger be so happy to see me? It left me in this uneasy feeling. And really wondering why he was so happy to see me? What could be the reason he was so happy to see me? When he reach to me. I did get my answer.

I did judge him too harshly because truth was

So first words out of his mouth were. -Excuse me. Do you know where this address is? He asked in Estonia and did show me small paper note with address on. He was still smiling happily. I did not recognize the address. And told that to him in Estonian. He went from smiling to instant desperation and sadness. – But I do have a map of Tallinn let’s look from that. I did say to him. And started to get map from my handbag pocket. – You have a map? He was really surprised. – Yes because either I need it or someone else does need it. I did explain as I was searching the address in the map. and then looking where we were. I took pen and did make a mark where he was going and where we were at the moment. And before I did show him what I had found. I did check where I needed to go get where I was going.

– Here is the address you were looking for and this is where we are now. So you need to go this way to here and then that way to get there. And here is the map so you can get there easily. I said and smiled as I was giving him the map. He asked me if I was sure that I would not need the map. I told him I had another one home or could get new one from Port of Tallinn free. So he could have it. He thank me and started to walk away with the map. Smiling again.

At least one man wasn’t too proud ask help and directions when he ended lost

I know there is this stereotype that men can’t ever ask help or directions. Well this one could. But I don’t how long he had been lost in those alleys and narrow streets. It did make me laugh how wrong I had judge him and read wrong the big smile and walking faster towards me. How long he had been stuck that medieval the labyrinth? I did not ask. But that relief and happiness. I would guess it had been awhile at least.

That was the day I stopped judging men so harshly at public places

I have been approached by strange men several times in public after that and I have learned there are 3 different things that they will ask from me. – Do I have light? To help them light a cigarette. – Can they borrow a cigarette? – Or do I know where they are or certain address is. And yes to this day I carry a map with me. Thankfully Cruise company Tallink does give out free maps. Those have helped so many people over the years. Yes there has been few other men.

Now I try to guess which three things strange men will come ask me? When they come to talk to me. But in Old Town it is still most asked question that they are lost and need to get certain place. Can I help? I have helped each one. And continue to help.

And I learned when men are too lost and desperate. They will ask help even from woman. Lol. All seriousness men can get lost and ask directions. And it is perfectly okay. I just keep map ready for next person that ends up needing it.

With love C.F. Grönroos

Creator of the Mysteries by Rose

Subscribe free to Mysteries by Rose via email and never miss new posts and poems

Leave a comment