My favorite restaurant is no longer

What is your favorite restaurant?

It is so sad such a great restaurant

I have eaten there ever since I was 12 years old. So long time it was my favorite restaurant to go. And even when I wasn’t living in Estonia I was traveling here just to eat there. Such a fantastic steak house. Food was amazing. But how people were treated depended on how they did treat the staff. It was restaurant that did choose it customers.

They really choose who would get table and who did not

And I did get table every time just walked in. No matter how busy or full the restaurant was. No waiting in the line just walk past everyone. Stolen many times others reserved table. But it was my fault if staff would call me to get inside even before I could get close to the end of the line. Really busy evenings went always same way. Get pass line of other customers. Getting best already reserved table that someone had reserved before hand. Taking food order first around free shot of Vana Tallinn liquor’s 80% not the 40% like all the others. And it martini glass full of these pastry things that are meant to eat with the shot. Second round Vana Tallinn still 80% another martini glass full those little salty pastry pillows before food. Sometimes when there was really busy it was apologized and third round Vana Tallinn before the food.

Why I got such a great service? They knew I will leave good tip and would treat them well. That was how I was able get such a great service. Being respectful and leave good tip. And thanking the staff and the chef as well. To show their work is valued and making their job easy by being a easy customer. Any restaurant staff will always pick the easy customers over difficult ones. Ask anyone who has ever work in restaurant business. Easy customers are what they all want and who get extra just that they would come back. I travelled from different country to eat there. The food and service was worth it. Only thing I needed to do was enjoy the food and leave good tip.

That is how I was getting my favorite that had not been in menu multiple years Hot Texas was its name. Even if I did order something else I was surprised with it. One of the waiters made sure I got it. That was always such a great surprise to get. He was multilingual like me so speaking three different languages same time very typical to us. Which did confuse some friends of mine. I do feel little guilty about that. but that just happens sometimes with multilinguals that we just jump different languages during one conversation.

Also being a easy table for restaurant staff makes staff to like you. Compared to the horror tables.

What are horror table?

Horror tables are the worst customers. And this restaurant they were always from one and the same country. I know if Estonians read this they will say Finland. And all of them are right.

So awful customers. And when I unfortunately understand awful things they are saying just like rest of the staff. No I’m not going to repeat any of that because it just makes me see red. Also stuff what was said was really not only disrespectful but disgusting so many levels.

And if every restaurant you go and get bad service really big chance is the reason is you. Good look at mirror at that point will find the one person who is all in those different places that causes the bad service.

There used be couple of person I used know who had been eating that restaurant and complained how awful the service had been. Telling how they will never go back. And my response made them even more mad. After listening those disgusting rants. And how they are never going back. I simply said. Good. Because they don’t want you. All shitty customers get the awful service they truly deserve. I don’t want you there ruin my good even as well. Also do me a favor and lose my number. Yes I really cut people of how they behaved in my favorite restaurant even when I was not there. They were lucky I wasn’t there. I would have tear them down and humiliate them front of everyone.

I have so many wonderful memories from that restaurant

Like being there with very dear family friend Jaana that is no longer alive. It was one of those busy evenings that end up getting 3 rounds of Vana Tallinn. And it 80% alcohol. So it is really strong. Me and my mom did warn her. But since she was little heavier drinker she thought she could handle it. First round she drank it one and said it was nothing. Couple minutes later her yes went circles and it went straight to her head. And she admitted it was really strong. Second one she took same reaction. Third she could not take. So I end up drinking it . Luckily having so many alcoholics in my family tree that I have this little genetic fault that gives me super high alcohol tolerance. That is why I don’t drink much because I don’t get drunk. There is no point wasting money to alcohol. And if I drink it 80% because I can drink it like it is nothing. There is only some men who try to drink me under table. Never happened. Many tried and all have failed. I only drink alcohol when I want the taste. But that was one of many funny evenings there with Jaana.

But it was the lockdowns that destroyed that restaurant like so many others. Unfortunately.

Last warning

My mom is professional chef and one thing I have learned. Never anger or insult people who have access to your food. Because those who are my mom’s level can make you so delicious looking, smelling and tasting dinner. The catch they dig everything out of trash bin to make it. No I’m not kidding. Because she taught me how to do that.

My advice don’t anger people who has access to your food. You never know what they can or will do for it.

With love C.F. Grönroos

Creator of the Mysteries by Rose

Subscribe free to Mysteries by Rose via email and never miss new posts and poems

Leave a comment