I wanted to be legionnaire

Daily writing prompt
When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be that ever since age of 4

Not very typical childhood dream when grown up profession or career. Especially for a little girl. But for me French Foreign Legion has always been the elite of the elite. And I wanted to be professional soldier. Back then and right now French Foreign Legion is still the best one in the world. That little girl’s dream was crushed the fact that women are not allowed to join the French Foreign Legion.

That moment I for the first time in my life I hated the fact that I had born as a girl. But that little girl had ego way bigger and she was absolutely sure. If I would became the very best soldier then I would be have chance to get in. Become best of the best. Well I was so driven back then to be best of the best everything I did. I was absolutely overachiever and overthinker already back then.

Two reasons why I did not pursuit that dream

One women are still not allowed to join French Foreign Legion. Yes I kinda do understand why. I have been through military training and spend almost all of my life surrounded by men. And it was men who taught me that men are danger and threat to women. And it was they who taught me how to defend myself. Because one day they would not be there to protect me. One day I would need protect myself. Luckily that one day has not been here yet.

Second reason was my health failed completely. Without full health Legion was out of question. So I had to be satisfied becoming a Army Sniper instead. It was easier to get at that time. Than try to fight for spot in Legion. Yes I do see it failure in a part. That is why I went back to serve another military and got my second Army Sniper training. I did choose best two of all the four countries I had right to serve in military. So I did my duty and followed both of my parents to serving in army. I do out rank both my parents and all the other then still living family members as well. Like I said I’m overachiever.

Coming from long line of women who were trailblazers

That have given me this unstoppable mentality ever since I was born. It does has it uses. But like everything it is double edge sword time to time. And the upbringing that my father did give me. Whatever men can do I can do. Because everything in life is skill that has to be learn. Of course genetic memory that everyone has that goes back 14 generations does gives an advantage depending on what those 14 generations were before. I know what my father side did give me. Both men and women.

But there has been so many women who were trailblazers. Only once have I have been hold back not achieve what I wanted because I was born as woman. That is French Foreign Legion. Otherwise it has never hold me back. I have either earned same or more as men when working for same job. Just like my mother. She build her professional reputation so good she needs only her name to get job more than one male dominant professions.

When, that is the female role models being a weak woman was never option. Unstoppable is only one I had been given. Women in my family have made history in their time. Only time will tell what I will end leaving behind.

With love C.F. Grönroos

Creator of the Mysteries by Rose

Subscribe free to Mysteries by Rose via email and never miss new posts and poems

Leave a comment